Main menu

There are seven areas of learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage, three prime areas and four specific areas.

The prime areas begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences and run through and support learning in all other areas. The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge. They grow out of the prime areas and provide important contexts for learning. The characteristics of effective learning – playing and exploring, active learning and thinking critically support children’s learning across all areas. Each area includes several aspects of learning. 

Prime Areas 

1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

2. Communication and Language

3. Physical Development 


Specific Areas 

4. Literacy 

5. Mathematics

6. Understanding the World

7. Expressive Arts and Design

These areas are covered by our topics which are planned with the children's interests and experiences in mind. Some examples of these topics include: the Seasons, Favourite Books, Nursery Rhymes, Farms and Under the Sea. These topics are designed to develop understanding and skills and are mainly explored through play, stories and other enjoyable activities.

For further information regarding Early Years Foundation please ask within Playgroup.